You are here

cardiffSOUTH WALES

BA Clubs South Wales is the sports and recreation club for all current and former staff of British Airways and its subsidiary companies based in South Wales at Blackwood, Cardiff and Llantrisant sites (BAIE, BAMC and BAAE).  The Club is locally run by various volunteers from the three sites and currently has about 700 members.

The Club organizes both social and sporting events and has the following sports sections that are open to all members.  These are Cricket, General Fitness, Golf and Rugby.  Each section organizes games, fixtures, training sessions, national and international tours to play against other airlines and clubs, and in some cases even marathon entries!

If all this sounds a little too energetic, there is a thriving social side of the Club which regularly organizes theatre trip and shopping days both in London and Cardiff, themed meal evenings, boat trips, racing trips, pantomime tickets, Christmas Ball, and much more.

Not only that, but members also have the chance to win a monthly prize of up to £25,000 in the central clubs lottery draw for as little as just under £1 a month.

To join the Club and/or any of the Sections, please contact your local representatives, or Michelle Lee on ext. 5692337. 

The full members of the Executive Committee are:

Chairman
Brian Currie – brian.currie@ba.com

Deputy Chairman: 
Barry West – barry.west@ba.com

Secretary:
Muriel Whilding – muriel.whilding@ba.com

Treasurer:
Tim Rose – Tim.rose@ba.com

Social Secretaries: 
Michelle Lee – Michelle.lee@ba.com

Representatives: 
Sarah Worley (Blackwood) – sarah.Worley@ba.com
Martine Roles (Llantrisant) – martine.roles@ba.com

South Wales (BAMC) Keep Fit Club

The Bay to Breakers race in San Francisco was held in May where the South Wales Keep Fit Club took part.